Briefs: Deputy Governors Appointed, SEZ Encroachers Charged

3 min read
Hun Sen speaks to graduating students in Phnom Penh on August 23, 2022. (Hun Sen’s Facebook page)
[responsivevoice_button voice="US English Female"]

A string of officials have been appointed to expanded deputy governorships in at least seven provinces by promoting district governors, provincial administrators and two Muslim youth officers.

At least four new deputy governors were appointed in each province, as part of an expansion of the boards of governors across the country as announced in June.

The number of deputy governors is being increased from six to 10 in all provinces.

In a series of sub-decrees signed by Prime Minister Hun Sen from July 12 to August 18, the new deputies were named for the provinces of Kampong Speu, Kampot, Kandal, Kep, Mondulkiri, Svay Rieng and Tbong Khmum.

Based on social media and news reports from pro-government local media, many of the new deputies were previously district governors or provincial administrators.

Kampong Speu (August 18)

  1. Srun Sroan, formerly deputy Preah Sihanoukville provincial governor.
  2. Sim Ratanak, formerly Samroang Tong district governor.
  3. Horn Pheakdey, formerly deputy provincial administration chief.
  4. Kao Sovannarith, an official at Interior Ministry.

Kampot (August 18)

  1. Penh Thearum, former president of CamControl’s Phnom Penh dry port branch and currently a board member of the Samdech Techo Young Volunteer Doctors Association.
  2. Sen Sabil, deputy chief of the Kampot Cambodian Muslim Youth Association.
  3. Khiev Rithyphoin, formerly Chhouk district governor.
  4. Ngann Thavrith, former position could not immediately be found.

Kandal (August 12)

  1. Bun Pheng, formerly Khsach Kandal district governor.
  2. Kruy Malen, formerly provincial administrative chief.
  3. Doem Bora, National Audit Authority senior national audit officer.
  4. Hak Sokmakara, formerly Tbong Khmum provincial deputy governor.

Mondulkiri (August 18)

  1. Nuon Saran, formerly Keo Seima district governor.
  2. Sorn Sarun, formerly provincial administrative chief.
  3. Chan Ratana, former position could not immediately be found.
  4. Ngin Sovimean, formerly director of the provincial tourism department.

Tbong Khmum (August 9)

  1. Mao Dung, formerly provincial administrative chief.
  2. Kun Rothmony, deputy chief of the CPP Youth Wing in Tbong Khmum.
  3. Hok Pichhoh, former position could not immediately be found.
  4. Math Ghofoth, president of the Tbong Khmum Muslim youth league.

Svay Rieng (August 18)

  1. Peng Pursa, formerly director of the National Assembly secretariat’s finance department.
  2. Men Eng, one-star general, adviser to chief monk Tep Vong, and team leader at Bayon radio and television.
  3. Sokha Ram, formerly Ramduol district governor.
  4. Yak Sinath, formerly deputy chief of the provincial administration.

Kep (August 18)

  1. Huor Mithona, former position could not immediately be found.
  2. Im Panharith, formerly provincial environmental department director.
  3. Kim Chanty, formerly Damnak Chang Aur district governor.
  4. Tith Sokha, formerly Kep city governor.

Kep (July 12)

  1. Yos Mony, formerly provincial mines and energy department director.

— Ouch Sony

Alleged Sihanoukville SEZ Encroachers Charged With Violence

The Preah Sihanouk Provincial Court charged four people with using violence against a property owner and obstructing a public official after their arrest last week for allegedly encroaching on land owned by the Sihanoukville Special Economic Zone.

Some villagers had constructed huts in Stung Hav district on land owned by the SEZ, directed by tycoon Choeung Sopheap and her husband, CPP senator Lao Meng Khin, a provincial spokesperson previously said.

Officials ordered the residents to dismantle the huts, but they protested with slingshots and Molotov cocktails, leading to four arrests, the spokesperson said at the time.

Provincial court spokesman Ly Chandara said on Wednesday that the four people — Tep Sara, Chhin Bouni, Seng Makara and Khuon Dara — were charged on Sunday with using violence against a property owner, selling another’s property, and obstructing public authorities, and placed in pretrial detention.

The charges — articles 253 and 255 of the Land Law, and Article 503 of the Criminal Code — carry potential penalties of six months to two years, six months to three years, and one to three months in prison, respectively.

— Mech Dara

VOD. No part of this article may be reproduced in print, electronically, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without written permission. VOD is not responsible for any infringement in all forms. The perpetrator may be subject to legal action under Cambodian laws and related laws.